NYSCHP supports legislation that would expand the scope of Pharmacists’ immunization authority to include all vaccines recommended by the CDC. Pharmacists can serve a key role as one of the most accessible health care professionals by providing access to Hepatitis A and B, varicella, human papilloma virus and measles, mumps, and rubella vaccines; currently, New York is one of the few states which does not allow this.

The authority for pharmacists to provide immunizations is set to sunset in July, 2020.

Immunization Authority Expansion to all CDC-recommended Vaccines (Fact Sheet)

NYSCHP supports recently passed legislation that would authorize pharmacy interns who have completed the same coursework and training as a licensed, certified pharmacist to administer vaccines to adults under the same terms applicable to licensed certified pharmacists. This legislation passed the Assembly and State Senate without opposition.

In order for the bill to become law, Governor Cuomo must sign it. The Council encourages its members to educate the Governor on this critically-needed piece of legislation. We have prepared a form letter – please customize based on your experience and how pharmacy intern immunization will help you take care of patients.

Letter to Governor Cuomo supporting Pharmacy Intern Immunization
Authorizing Pharmacy Interns to Administer Immunizations (Fact Sheet)
Memorandum of Support for Pharmacy Intern Immunization Bill by NYSCHP

In 2018, Governor Cuomo issued an executive order which allowed pharmacists to temporarily immunize patients aged 2 through 18 years old. Health Commission Dr. Howard Zucker subsequently signed a non-patient specific order for licensed pharmacists with a certificate of administration issued by the NYS Education Department to vaccinate patients between two years and eighteen years of age against seasonal influenza. This underscores the important role of the pharmacist in improving health care outcomes and reducing the morbidity and mortality associated with vaccine-preventable illnesses.

Governor Cuomo Executive Order

Non-Patient Specific Order for 2017-2018 Influenza (Aged 2-18) 


Contact the Vice President of Public Policy, Andrew Kaplan ([email protected]) for more information.